States and Capitals

List of States, Capitals and Foundation Days-PDF Download

Spread the love

States, Capitals and their Foundation Days

India is a country in southern Asia. With over 1.40 billion people, India is the 2nd most populous country in the world after China. Repblic of India under parliamentary system consisting of 28 states and 8 union territories.

All states, as well as the union territories of Jammu and Kashmir, Puducherry and the National Capital Territory of Delhi, have elected legislatures and governments, both patterned on the Westminster model.

The remaining five union territories are directly ruled by the central government through appointed administrators.

In 1956, under the States Reorganisation Act, states were reorganised on a linguistic basis.

Since then, their structure has remained largely unchanged. Each state or union territory is further divided into administrative districts.

The legislatures of three states Himachal Pradesh, Maharashtra and Uttarakhand and of union territory Jammu and Kashmir meet in different capitals for their summer and winter sessions.

Ladakh has both Leh and Kargil as its administrative capitals.

The state and union territory capitals are sorted according to administrative, legislative and judicial capitals.

The administrative capital is where the executive government offices are located.

This section of static gk is very important part of competitive exams like IAS, SSC, RRB, CPO, KVS, NVS, RPSC, TNSC, MPPSC, UPSC, Railways, Banking and so many other states and central government job entrance exams.

Here we compiled the list of states,capitals and their foundation days. You can download pdf file too.

States,Capitals and their Foundation Days 2021 day
1.Andra PradeshHyderabad (new capital Amaravati)1 Nov. 1956
2.Arunachal PradeshItanagar20 Feb. 1987
3.AssamDispur26 Jan. 1950
4.BiharPatna 22 March 1912
5.ChhattisgarhRaipur1 Nov. 2000
6.GoaPanaji30 May 1987
7.GujaratGandhinagar1 May 1960
8.HaryanaChandigarh1 Nov. 1966
9.Himachal PradeshShimla25 Jan. 1971
10.JarkhandRanchi15 Nov. 2000
11.KarnatakaBengalugu1 Nov. 1956
12.KeralaThiruvananthpuram 1 Nov. 1956
13.Madhya PradeshBhopal 1 Nov. 1956
14.MaharashtraMumbai1 May 1960
15.ManipurImphal21 Jan. 1972
16.MeghalayaShilong 21 Jan. 1972
17.MizoramAizawal20 Feb. 1987
18.NagalandKohima1 Dec. 1963
19.OdishaBhubneshwar26 Jan. 1950
20.PunjabChandigarh1 Nov. 1956
21.RajasthanJaipur 1 Nov. 1956
22.SikkimGangtok16 May 1975
23.TamilNaduChennai26 Jan. 1950
24.TelanganaHyderabad2 Jan. 2014
25.TripuraAgartala21 Jan. 1972
26.Utter PradeshLucknow26. Jan. 1950
27.UttrakhandDehradun9 Nov. 2000
28.West BengalKolkata1 Nov. 1956

Union Territories, Capitals and Foundation Day

S.No.Union TerritoryCapitalFoundation day
1.Andaman and Nicobar islandsPort Blair 1 Nov. 1956
2.ChandigarhChandigarh 1 Nov. 1966
3.Dadra Nagar Haveli And Daman & DiuDaman 26 Jan. 2020
4.DelhiNew Delhi 9 May 1905
5.Jammu and KashmirShrinagar (Summer),
Jammu (Winter)
31 Oct. 2019
6.LakshadweepKavaratti1 Nov. 1956
7.PudhucherryPudhucherry1 Nov. 1954
8.LadakhLeh31 Oct. 2019

Leave a Reply