pm of India

List of Prime Ministers of India till now

Spread the love

Prime Minister of India

The Prime Minister of India is the chief executive of the Government of India.

Some important points asked in various exams are given below.

1. Jawaharlal Nehru was the first Prime minister of India. He also India’s longest-serving prime minister.

2. Indira Gandhi was the first Woman Prime minister of India.

3. Rajiv Gandhi was sworn-in as India’s youngest Prime minister of India.

4. Manmohan Singh is the first Sikh Prime minister of India.

5. Narendra Damodardas Modi is the current Prime minister of India (14th).

This section of static gk is very important part for competitive exams like IAS, SSC, RRB, CPO, KVS, NVS, RPSC, TNSC, MPPSC, UPSC, Railways, Banking and so many other states and central government job entrance exams.

Here we compiled the full list of prime ministers of India. You can download pdf file of this article.

List of Prime Ministers of India 2021

S.No.Name of Prime MinisterTenure StartedTenure Ended
1Jawahar Lal Nehru15-Aug-194727-May-1964
2Gulzarilal Nanda27-May-19649 June 1964
3Lal Bahadur Shastri09-Jun-196411-Jan-1966
4Gulzarilal Nanda11-Jan-196624 January 1966
5Indira Gandhi24-Jan-196624-Mar-1977
6Morarji Desai24-Mar-197728-Jul-1979
7Charan Singh28-Jul-197914-Jan-1980
8Indira Gandhi14-Jan-198031-Oct-1984
9Rajiv Gandhi31-Oct-198402-Dec-1989
10Vishwanath PratapSingh02-Dec-198910-Nov-1990
11Chandra Shekhar10-Nov-199021-Jun-1991
12P. V. Narasimha Rao21-Jun-199116-May-1996
13Atal Bihari Vajpayee16-May-199601-Jun-1996
14H. D. Deve Gowda01-Jun-199621-Apr-1997
15Atal Bihari Vajpayee19-Mar-199822-May-2004
16Dr. Manmohan Singh22-May-200426-May-2014
17Narendra Damodardas Modi26-May-2014Incumbent