List of Comptroller and Auditor General of India

Spread the love

Comptroller & Auditor General (CAG)

The Comptroller and Auditor General (CAG) of India is the Constitutional Authority in India, established under Article 148 of the Constitution of India.

He is empowered to Audit all receipts and expenditure of the Government of India and the State Governments, including those of autonomous bodies and corporations substantially financed by the Government.

The Comptroller and Auditor General (CAG) also audit Government-owned corporations and conducts supplementary audit of government companies in which the Government has an equity share of at least 51 per cent or subsidiary companies of existing government companies.

Shri Girish Chandra Murmu, is 14th CAG of India, who assumed office on 8th August 2020.

CAG Founded : 1858

Salary : ₹2,50,000 per month

Appointer : President of India

Constituting Instrument : Article 148 of the Constitution of India

Deputy : Deputy Comptrollers and Auditors General of India

Term Length : 6 yrs or up to 65 yrs of age (whichever is earlier)

This section of static gk is very important part for competitive exams like IAS, SSC, RRB, CPO, KVS, NVS, RPSC, TNSC, MPPSC, UPSC, Railways, Banking and so many other states and central government job entrance exams.

Here we compiled the list of comptroller and auditors general of India. You can download pdf file of this article.

List of Comptroller and Auditor General of India (2021)

S.No.CAG NameTenure
1V. Narahari Rao1949 – 1954
2A. K. Chanda1954 – 1960
3A. K. Roy1960 – 1966
4S. Ranganathan1966 – 1972
5A. Bakshi1972 – 1978
6Gian Prakash1978 – 1984
7T. N. Chaturvedi1984 -1990
8C. G. Somiah1990 – 1996
9V. K. Shunglu1996 -2002
10VN Kaul2002 – 2008
11Vinod Rai2008 – 2013
12Shashi Kant Sharma2013 – 2017
13Rajiv Mehrishi2017 – 2020
14Shri Girish Chandra Murmu 2020- incumbent