List of all Chief Justice of India-PDF Download

Spread the love

Chief Justice of India

The Chief Justice of India (CJI) is the chief judge of the Supreme Court of India. The Chief Justice of India (CJI) also heads their administrative functions.

The Chief Justice of India (CJI) and the Judges of the Supreme Court are appointed by the President under clause (2) of Article 124 of the Constitution.

In accordance with Article 145 of the Constitution of India and the Supreme Court Rules of Procedure of 1966, the chief justice allocates all work to the other judges who are bound to refer the matter back to him or her (for re-allocation) in any case where they require it to be looked into by a larger bench of more judges.

Appointed by : President of India

Term length : Until the age of 65

Residence : 6, Krishna Menon Marg, Sunehri B

First holder : H. J. Kania (1950–1951)‎

Salary : ₹280,000 (US$3,900) (per month)

The 48th and present chief justice (CJI) is N. V. Ramana.

This section of static gk is very important part for competitive exams like IAS, SSC, RRB, CPO, KVS, NVS, RPSC, TNSC, MPPSC, UPSC, Railways, Banking and so many other states and central government job entrance exams.

Here we compiled the list of chief justice of India. You can download pdf file of this article.

List of Chief Justice of India

S.No.NameFrom To
1Harilal Jekisundas Kania26 January 19506 November 1951
2Mandakolathur Patanjali Sastri7 November 19513 January 1954
3Mehr Chand Mahajan4 January 195422 December 1954
4Bijan Kumar Mukherjea23 December 195431 January 1956
5Sudhi Ranjan Das1 February 195630 September 1959
6Bhuvaneshwar Prasad Sinha1 October 195931 January 1964
7P. B. Gajendragadkar1 February 196415 March 1966
8Amal Kumar Sarkar16 March 196629 June 1966
9Koka Subba Rao30 June 196611 April 1967
10Kailas Nath Wanchoo12 April 196724 February 1968
11Mohammad Hidayatullah25 February 196816 December 1970
12Jayantilal Chhotalal Shah17 December 197021 January 1971
13Sarv Mittra Sikri22 January 197125 April 1973
14Ajit Nath Ray26 April 197327 January 1977
15Mirza Hameedullah Beg29 January 197721 February 1978
16Yeshwant Vishnu Chandrachud22 February 197811 July 1985
17Prafullachandra Natwarlal Bhagwati12 July 198520 December 1986
18Raghunandan Swarup Pathak21 December 198618 June 1989
19Engalaguppe Seetharamiah Venkataramiah19 June 198917 December 1989
20Sabyasachi Mukharji18 December 198925 September 1990
21Ranganath Misra26 September 199024 November 1991
22Kamal Narain Singh25 November 199112 December 1991
23Madhukar Hiralal Kania13 December 199117 November 1992
24Lalit Mohan Sharma18 November 199211 February 1993
25Manepalli Narayana Rao Venkatachaliah12 February 199324 October 1994
26Aziz Mushabber Ahmadi25 October 199424 March 1997
27Jagdish Sharan Verma25 March 199717 January 1998
28Madan Mohan Punchhi18 January 19989 October 1998
29Adarsh Sein Anand10 October 199831 October 2001
30Sam Piroj Bharucha1 November 20015 May 2002
31Bhupinder Nath Kirpal6 May 20027 November 2002
32Gopal Ballav Pattanaik8 November 200218 December 2002
33Vishweshwar Nath Khare19 December 20021 May 2004
34S. Rajendra Babu2 May 200431 May 2004
35Ramesh Chandra Lahoti1 June 200431 October 2005
36Yogesh Kumar Sabharwal1 November 200513 January 2007
37Konakuppakatil Gopinathan Balakrishnan14 January 200712 May 2010
38Sarosh Homi Kapadia12 May 201028 September 2012
39Altamas Kabir29 September 201218 July 2013
40Palanisamy Gounder Sathasivam19 July 201326 April 2014
41Rajendra Mal Lodha27 April 201427 September 2014
42Handyala Lakshminarayanaswamy Dattu28 September 20142 December 2015
43Tirath Singh Thakur3 December 20153 January 2017
44Jagdish Singh Khehar4 January 201727 August 2017
45Dipak Misra28 August 20172 October 2018
46Ranjan Gogoi3 October 201817 November 2019
47Sharad Arvind Bobde18 November 201923 April 2021
48Nuthalapati Venkata Ramana24 April 2021Incumbent