Ls Speaker

List of Lok Sabha Speakers since1952 till now

Spread the love

Speaker of the Lok Sabha

The Speaker of the Lok Sabha is the presiding officer and the highest authority of the Lok Sabha, the lower house of the Parliament of India.

The speaker is elected generally in the first meeting of the Lok Sabha following general elections. Serving for a term of five years, the speaker chosen from sitting members of the Lok Sabha.

Powers and Functions of the Speaker

The Speaker of the Lok Sabha conducts the business in house.

He decides whether a bill is a money bill or not.

He maintains discipline and decorum in the house.

He can punish a member for unruly behavior by suspending them.

He also permits the moving of various kinds of motions and resolutions such as a motion of no confidence, motion of adjournment, motion of censure and calling attention notice as per the rules.

The Speaker decides on the agenda to be taken up for discussion during the meeting. 

Appointer : Members of Lok Sabha

Term Length : During the life of the Lok Sabha (five years maximum)

Inaugural Holder : Ganesh Vasudev Mavalankar (1952–1956)

Formation : 15 May 1952

Salary : 3.5 lakh rupees per month

Removal of Speaker

Speaker can be removed by the Lok Sabha by a resolution passed by an effective majority (>50% of total strength excluding vacancies) of the house as per Articles 94 and 96.

The Speaker is also removed on being disqualified for being Lok Sabha member under sections 7 and 8 of Representation of the People Act, 1951.

This would arise out of speaker’s wrong certification of a bill as money bill inconsistent with the definition given in Articles 110 of the constitution.

List of Lok Sabha Speakers (195-2021)

1Ganesh Vasudev Mavalankar1952-1956INC
2M. A. Ayyangar1956-1962INC
3Sardar Hukam Singh1962-1967INC
4Neelam Sanjiva Reddy1967-1969INC
5Gurdial Singh Dhillon1969-1975INC
6Bali Ram Bhagat1976-1977INC
7Neelam Sanjiva Reddy1977Janatha Party
8K. S. Hegde1977-1980Janatha Party
9Balram Jakhar1980-1989INC
10Rabi Ray1989-1991Janata Dal
11Shivraj Patil1991-1996INC
12P. A. Sangma1996-1998INC
13G. M. C. Balayogi1998-2002Telugu Desam Party
14Manohar Joshi2002-2004Shiv Sena
15Somnath Chatterjee2004-2009Communist Party Of India
16Meira Kumar2009-2014INC
17Sumitra Mahajan2014 – 2019BJP
18Om Birla2019- IncumbentBJP