icc world cup winners

List of ICC Cricket World Cup Winners-PDF Download

Spread the love

ICC World Cup

ICC Cricket world cup is famous in Asian Continent. Craze of cricket is increasing in western countries due to T-20 Format. Cricket is played in few countries like England, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, West Indies, Zimbabwe, Ireland, some Asian countries like India, Pakistan, Shri Lanka, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, but nowadays it is getting popularity in USA, UAE, China, Honkong and so many other parts of the world.

Cricket matches are played in 3 different formats which are

1. Test Match (90 overs in a day and duration 5 days)

2. One day international (ODI) match (50 overs each side, duration 1 day).

3. T-20 Cricket match (20 overs each side, duration max. 3 hours only).

There is one more format of Cricket match which is T-10, in it each side has 10 overs but this format is not given nod by International Cricket Council (ICC). T-10 is played in few Cricket leagues.

First Cricket World Cup was contested in England in 1975. It was played as a series of one-day matches of 60 overs per side.

In 1987 first time, it was held outside England, and combined organized by India and Pakistan. In 1987 world cup number of overs per side reduced to 50. Since than one day cricket match has 50 overs per side.

In 2007 Australia became the 1st team to win 3 consecutive World Cup ODI tournaments. Till date 12 World Cup tournaments being held. Australia is the most success country which won 5 World Cups.

India & West Indies are the only two countries which have won the world cup 2 times each. India won the World Cup in 1983 and 2011, while West Indies won in 1975 and 1979. The last World Cup held in 2019 was won by England.

Apart from men’s cricket ICC also conducts women’s world cup. The first winner at a limited-overs World Cup was, in fact, not West Indies, but the England women’s team, at the first Women’s World Cup in 1973, two years before the first men’s event.

List of ICC ODI Men’s Cricket World Cup Winners

Year HostWinnerScoreRunner UpScoreFinal Result
1975EnglandWest Indies291–8Australia274West Indies won by 17 runs
1979EnglandWest Indies286–9England194West Indies won by 92 runs
1983EnglandIndia183West Indies140India won by 43 runs
1987India & PakistanAustralia253–5England246–8Australia won by 7 runs
1992Australia &
New Zealand
Pakistan249–6England227Pakistan won by 22 runs
1996Pakistan &
Sri Lanka245–3Australia241Sri Lanka won by 7 wickets
1999EnglandAustralia133–2Pakistan132Australia won by 8 wickets
2003South AfricaAustralia359–2India234Australia won by 125 runs
2007West IndiesAustralia281–4Sri Lanka215-8Australia won by 53 runs
2011India &
India277–4Sri Lanka274-6India won by 6 wickets
2015Australia &
New Zealand

New Zealand


Australia won by 7 wickets
England and
England241New Zealand241–8Match tied after regular play
and super over; England
won on boundary count

Country-wise Men’s Cricket ODI World Cup Winners

TeamFinal PlayedWinnerRunner-UpWin Year Runner-Up Year
Australia7521987, 1999, 2003,
2007, 2015
1975, 1996
England303—-1979, 1987, 1992
India3211983, 20112003
New Zealand101—-2015
Sri Lanka31219962007, 2011
West Indies3211975, 19791983

List of ICC Men’s T-20 Cricket World Cup Winners

YearHostWinner ScoreRunner-UpScoreFinal Result
2007South AfricaIndia157-5Pakistan152India won by 5 runs
2009EnglandPakistan139-2Sri Lanka138Pakistan won by 8 wickets
2010West IndiesEngland148-3Australia147-6England won by 7 wickets
2012Sri LankaWest Indies137-6Sri Lanka101West Indies won by 36 runs
2014BangladeshSri Lanka134-4India130-4Sri Lanka won by 6 wickets
2016IndiaWest Indies161-6England155-9West Indies won by 4 wickets
2021UAE & Oman—-

List of ICC ODI Women’s Cricket World Cup Winners

Year HostWinnerScoreRunner-UpScoreFinal Result
1973EnglandEngland(20-point)Australia(17-points)England Won (on the basis of points in table)
1978IndiaAustralia(6-points)England(4-points)Australia Won (on the basis of points in table)
1982New ZealandAustralia157-7England151-5Australia won by 3 wickets
1988AustraliaAustralia129-2England127-7Australia won by 8 wickets
1993EnglandEngland195-5New Zealand128England won by 67 runs
1997IndiaAustralia165-5New Zealand164Australia won by 5 wickets
2000New ZealandNew Zealand184Australia180New Zealand won by 4 runs
2005South AfricaAustralia215-4India117Australia won by 98 runs
2009AustraliaEngland167-6New Zealand166England won by 4 wickets
2013IndiaAustralia259-7West Indies145Australia won by 114 runs
2017EnglandEngland228-7India219England won by 9 runs
2022New Zealand

List of ICC Women’s T-20 Cricket World Cup Winners

YearHostWinnerScoreRunner-UpScoreFinal Result
2009EnglandEngland86-4New Zealand85England won by 6 wickets
2010West IndiesAustralia106-8New Zealand103-6Australia won by 3 wickets
2012Shri LankaAustralia142-4England138-9Australia won by 4 wickets
2014BangladeshAustralia106-4England105-8Australia won by 6 wickets
2016IndiaWest Indies149-2Australia148-5West Indies won by 8 wickets
2018West IndiesAustralia106-2England105Australia won by 8 wickets
2020AustraliaAustralia184-4India99 Australia won by 85 runs
2023South Aftrica