high courts

List of High Courts of India-PDF Download

Spread the love

High Courts in India

The High Court of a State is the highest court of the State and all other courts of the State work under it. There are 25 High Courts in India.

Normally there is one High Court in every State but there can be only one High Court for two or more States as well (Article 231), according to the constitution.

The Bombay and Madras High Courts were also established in the same year(1862).

The Calcutta High Court, established in 1862, is the oldest High Court in India.

The newest High Courts are the Telangana Court and Andhra Pradesh High Court, both established in the year 2019.

The Bombay, Madras and Calcutta High Courts are the three Chartered High Courts in India.

In every High Court, there is a Chief Justice and many other judges whose number is defined by the President of India.

The Madras Law Journal, published from the Madras High Court, was the first journal in India dedicated to reporting judgements of a Court (1891).

This section of static gk is very important part of competitive exams like IAS, SSC, RRB, CPO, KVS, NVS, RPSC, TNSC, MPPSC, UPSC, Railways, Banking and so many other states and central government job entrance exams.

Here we compiled the list of high courts of India. You can download pdf file of this article.

List of High Courts of India 2021

NameYearTerritorial Area of JudgementSeating Bench
Kolkata1862West Bengal, Andman & Nicobar IslandsKolkata ( Bench of port Blair)
Bombay1862Maharastra, Dadar, & Nagar Haveli. Goa, Daman DiuMumbai (Bench at Panaji, Aurangabad & Nagpur)
Chennai1862Tamil Nadu & PondicherryChennai (Bench at Madurai)
Allahabad1866Utter PradeshAllahabad (Bench at Lucknow)
Karnataka1884KarnatakaBengaluru (Bench at Dharwad and Gulbarga)
Patna1916 BiharPatna
Jammu &
1928Jammu & KashmirSri Nagar & Jammu
Punjab & Haryana1947Punjab, Haryana, ChandigarhChandigarh
Guwahati1948Assam, Nagaland, Mizoram and Arunachal PradeshGuwahati (Bench at Kohima, Aizawl and Itanagar)
Rajasthan1949RajasthanJodhpur ( Bench – Jaipur)
Madhya Pradesh1956Madhya PradeshJabalpur (Bench–Indore , Gwalior)
Kerala1958Kerala & LakshadweepErnakulam
Himachal Pradesh1966Himachal PradeshShimla
Andhra Pradesh2019Andhra PradeshAmravati

Appointment of the Judges

1. The Chief Justice of a High Court is appointed by the President with the consultation of the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court and the Governor of the State.

2.The other judges are appointed by the will of President, Governor and the Chief Justice of High Court.

Qualifications for the Judges

  • He should be a citizen of India.
  • He should have been an advocate in one or more High Courts in India or a judge for at least 10 years in subordinate courts in India.

Salary of High Court Judge

The pay of the Chief Justice of a High Court is rupees 280,000/- per month and that of the other judges is rupees 250,000/- per month.


Originally the age of the retirement of the judges of the High Courts was fixed at 60 but it was raised to 62 in 1963 according to the 15th amendment of the Constitution.

Removal of the Judges

1. A judge may leave his office by resigning. He will send his letter of resignation to the President.

2. His office would be considered to have been vacated if he is appointed as a judge of the Supreme Court or is transferred to some other High Court. A judge of a High Court may also be removed like a judge of the Supreme Court.

3. A judge of High Court may be removed by the President if the Parliament passes a motion against him by an absolute majority and (2/3)rd majority of the members present and voting, both the Houses sitting separately.