Vice President

List of Vice President of India-PDF Download

Spread the love

Vice President

The Vice President of India, officially the Vice President of the Republic of India, is the second-highest constitutional office in India after the President.

Article 63 of Indian Constitution states that “There shall be a Vice President of India.”

The Vice President acts as President in the absence of the president due to death, resignation, impeachment, or other situations.

The Vice President of India is also Chairperson of the Rajya Sabha.

When a bill is introduced in Rajya Sabha, the vice president decides whether it is a financial bill or not.

If he is of the opinion, a bill introduced in the Rajya Sabha is a money bill, he would refer the case to the Speaker of the Lok Sabha for deciding it.

Article 66 of the Indian Constitution states the manner of election of the Vice President.

The Vice President of India also acts as the Honourable Chancellor of Panjab University, Chandigarh.

Venkaiah Naidu is the current Vice President of India.

He defeated UPA’s candidate Gopalkrishna Gandhi on 5 August 2017 election.

List of Vice Presidents of India

1Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan1952-1962Independent
2Zakir Husain1962-1967Independent
3Varahagiri Venkata Giri1967-1969Independent
4Gopal Swarup Pathak1969-1974Independent
5Basappa Danappa Jatti1974-1979Indian National Congress
6Mohammad Hidayatullah1979-1984Independent
7Ramaswamy Venkataraman1984-1987Indian National Congress
8Shankar Dayal Sharma1987-1992Indian National Congress
9Kocheril Raman Narayanan1992-1997Indian National Congress
10Krishan Kantdagger1997-2002Janata Dal
11Bhairon Singh Shekhawat2002-2007Bharatiya Janata Party
12Mohammad Hamid Ansari2007-2017Indian National Congress
13Muppavarapu Venkaiah Naidu2017 – till nowPresent Bharatiya Janata Party